Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

The Howard C. Smith Cup is named in honor of former Massachusetts State College Trustee Smith, who in 1970, urged the athletic directors of the eight State Colleges to hold a series of meetings to discuss the possibility of forming an intercollegiate conference. In June of 1971, Smith’s dream became a reality as an affirmative agreement was reached and the MASCAC was created.

During the MASCAC’s first year of existence, the eight member Colleges voted to award a Cup annually to the one institution which excelled in the league’s eight championship sports. Thus, the Howard C. Smith Cup was established.

The Smith Cup, which was updated in the summer of 2007, is awarded to the MASCAC institution which compiles the most points based on the placement of each of its programs competing in the 15 league championships.

Since it was first awarded in 1972, Bridgewater State and Westfield State have now won outright or shared the Smith Cup 12 and 17 times,respectively. Salem State has won or shared 19 of the 42 Smith Cups. 

All-Time Howard C. Smith Cup Champions



2018-19 Bridgewater State
2017-18 Westfield State
2016-17 Westfield State
2015-16 Westfield State
2014-15 Westfield State
2013-14 Westfield State
2012-13 Westfield State
2011-12 Westfield State
2010-11 Westfield State
2009-10 Westfield State
2008-09 Bridgewater State
2007-08 Westfield State
2006-07 Westfield State
2005-06 Bridgewater State
2004-05 Bridgewater State, Worcester State
2003-04 Bridgewater State
2002-03 Bridgewater State
2001-02 Westfield State
2000-01 Bridgewater State
1999-00 Bridgewater State
1998-99 Salem State
1997-98 Bridgewater State,Westfield State
1996-97 Salem State
1995-96 Bridgewater State,Salem State
1994-95 Bridgewater State
1993-94 Salem State
1992-93 Salem State
1991-92 Salem State
1990-91 Salem State
1989-90 Salem State
1988-89 Salem State
1987-88 Salem State
1986-87 North Adams State
1985-86 Bridgewater State
1984-85 Salem State
1983-84 Salem State
1982-83 Salem State
1981-82 Salem State
1980-81 Salem State
1979-80 Salem State
1978-79 Salem State
1977-78 Westfield State
1976-77 Westfield State
1975-76 Salem State
1974-75 Westfield State
1973-74 Salem State
1972-73 Westfield State